Capital or Capitol?

Virginia has had three capital cities since colinization. Jamestown was the first in 1607. Williamsburg followed in 1699. An finally, Richmond was named capital in 1780. Richmond was selected for its less vulnerable position during the Revolutionary War which ended in 1783. Richmond was, of course, also the capital of the Confederacy which, oddly, also moved four times. It started in Montgomery, Alabama but was moved to Richmond in part because the heat and bugs of Montgomery were intolerable to the congress. After Richmond fell, the capital moved to Danville, and lastly moved to Greensboro, NC.